When you don’t know what to try, try it all!

Published August 16, 2011 by Crystal

Do you know what you’re good at? Do you know what you want to do with your life, your time, your skills?

I don’t.  I seem to be in a period where the world is my oyster, but I just don’t know what direction to take.  So, I figured, it’s time to try out some new stuff!  I used to enjoy clay when I was younger.  I used to make jewellery out of fimo.  But I never felt my work was good enough.  In fact, I think most of my life is spent thinking I’m not good enough at anything.  I don’t have the confidence.

But now it’s dawned on me, who am I trying to please?  So I’ve ordered a chunk of materials to get arty with the kids while they’re on holiday, and to give myself the opportunity to be creative.  I’ve been inspired by the creations of people on a group I visit.  A group of lovely faeries, who enjoy nourishing their souls through creating works of art.  I don’t know if I’ll be any good at it, but while I keep in mind that I am doing it for myself and noone else, I can keep the pressure off.

What have you wanted to try, but felt you’re not going to do it justice?  If you were to keep in mind that you’re doing it to impress yourself would it make it easier giving it a go.

When you realise you are never going to please everyone, no matter how hard you try, you may as well try at least making yourself a little bit happier.  It’s your life after all.  And it’s not selfish to want to make the most of this life while you’re here.

Witches have a saying “An it harm none, do what ye will”.  If going for your dreams isn’t hurting anyone, and if it is going to make you a better person, or give you a better outlook on life, then take the chance.

4 comments on “When you don’t know what to try, try it all!

  • there is an old saying “you can please some of the people some of the time but not all of the people all of the time”. Its true in what you say if it make you feel good then do it, don’t worry about not being good enough as long as it brings you happyness then why not Mervyn

  • Go for it girl! You’re spending time with the kids, you’re all being creative, and having fun. It doesn’t matter what other people think, and I guarantee you’ll surprise yourself at just how good you are. Post pictures, and show off a bit – you deserve the praise I know you’ll get! Glad you are feeling optimistic. When you have depression, you have to squeeze every drop of feel-good juice out of your good days, and it looks like you are doing just that! Mwah xx

    • Oh thank you so much!
      I’ve decided to come off the pills too. Bit fed up of the fog now. Constantly forgetful, can’t concentrate, constantly forgetful ;-). Figured if I can get practical with stuff and give my brain some activity then it will help! I’m looking forward to seeing what I can create!

  • Leave a Reply

