A Kind Life

Published September 5, 2011 by Crystal

Oh My Goodness.

I am going to be one of those awful bores.  I just know it.  A vegan convert; “Do you know how cruelly that cow was treated before he made his way into your burger?”!  Actually, I will endeavour very hard not to be, I can’t stand converts, like the ex smokers, who stand around, now coughing at your disgusting habit they once had so much pleasure in 😉

But I say again, Oh My Goodness. I am reading Alicia Silverstone’s book, The Kind Diet which I happily collected from the sorting office today, and she gives alot of food for thought. When I eat meat it doesn’t occur to me to contemplate the things like antibiotics that the animal has received and that can be passing on to me. Or the adrenaline and stress hormones that may have been released into the poor beast prior to his death.  As practical as I am, knowing bacon comes from pigs, and lamb comes from, well, lambs, I’ve still been protected and sanitized from the whole slaughterhouse procedure.

And we do hear an awful lot of crap touted by the anti vege brigades.  “How can vegetarians possibly get enough protein?  Not to mention the vegans?”  “Vegans are always skinny and unhealthy and grey looking!”

I don’t know whether this is true, I mean I’ve only been reading for a couple of weeks, but apparently, if everyone adopted a plant based diet, the planet would be far more sustainable.  Too much land and resources are given over to meat production, not to mention the gases produced by the animals contributing to global warming.

 

OK, ok, I’ll shut up about all that, because actually that wasn’t why I started to look to veganism.  I put on alot of weight with my broken ankle, and wanted to give my body a bit of a post bloat boost.  I was going to try veganism for a week, and clear out my system a bit.  One week turned to two, two is becoming three and I feel vibrant, energised, lighter.

I’ve enjoyed breakfasting on pitta stuffed with hummus and salad, and I’ve enjoyed trying different flavoured tofus.   I am absolutely loving filling my meals with different fruits and veggies, biting into a crisp apple instead of feasting on a pack of crisps.  And I haven’t missed a smidgeon of meat, a chunk of cheese, or a bite of chocolate.  Pumpkin seeds as a mid morning snack?  Well don’t mind if I do!  They’re rich in iron!

 

I’m not going to beg anyone to give it a try.  It can be a drastic change, and if you’re looking at it as an option purely for weight loss I can imagine, as with any diet, you will get bored pretty quickly.  But having hardly touched any processed food over the last 2 weeks, I can honestly say I think I’m in this for the duration.

Leave a Reply

