Turning into a crone!

Published November 19, 2011 by Crystal

It’s official.  I’m perimenopausal.  My body is “embracing” the next phase of life, with the joyous gift of hot flashes, insomnia, weight refusing to shift, lethargy, mood swings, the list goes on.

I’ve been very emotional the last few days.  To me, menopause means a big stride from fertility to barrenness.  And I’m 32.  It’s not as if I’m knocking on 40’s door, let alone 50’s door.  But there it is.  And with it, a whole new host of symptoms and issues.  I’ve had my family, so it’s not that.  It’s the feelings that suddenly I’m ageing.  Suddenly my body seems to want to move  to the crone phase of life, where I’m no longer sexual or sensual.  I’m just a hollow husk.  At least that’s what my over emotional self has been saying these last few days.

Of course I’m not the first person to hit this fairly young.  It can happen far earlier in special circumstances, and those who have hysterectomies have very many symptoms to deal with.

And of course, in reality, it doesn’t make us less of a woman when we move toward menopause.  Our physiology changes to some extent.  Hormones necessary for fertility are no longer produced in the same quantity, and we have to deal with fluctuations and spikes and slumps that our bodies have not had to tolerate in some way.

I’ve spent endless hours on the internet, researching the many options and discussions.  Estrogen dominance seems to be a hot topic at the moment, and personally I’m going down the route of progesterone therapy to see if it works for me.  I’m also having to address my diet and fitness drastically.  My metabolism has gone to a snail pace.  Apparently it’s due to the hormones, and the drop, but what I do know is that if this is me, now, and the way it is going to be, I don’t want to feel ancient by the age of 40 and I need to shift myself now.

I’m fortunate to have found several sites for younger than average perimenopausal women.  Though it’s not a particularly fortunate position to be in  things could be a million times worse, and there are plenty of trials and errors to go through to  find the best form of treatment to make this passage as easy as possible!

Leave a Reply

