Food as Fuel

Published November 21, 2011 by Crystal

I was directed towards a very interesting blog the other day, and it has had me mulling thoughts and feelings over the weekend.

The blog post in particular was; http://exmoorjane.blogspot.com/2011/11/how-i-lose-four-stone-without-trying.html

I have been following Intuitive Eating for over 3 years now, and I can be honest in that I’ve made peace with lots of foods. I don’t crave chocolate like I used to. In fact, I actually don’t much like it.

But I still have an issue with portion size, and with my current slide into croneville, I realise my time is running out as far as changing my shape and health and fitness. I want to be able to look back and say I actually got to that point where I am healthy.

So I am experimenting. For as long as it is comfortable, I am going to look at food purely as fuel (might make the odd exception what with Christmas hurtling towards us, mind) and address those cravings for a particular taste or texture with questions as to why I want them. I’m going to look at my meals purely as fuel for the running of this vehicle I live in. Currently I’m a rather curvacious Beetle. I can get places, but I’m not exactly fuel efficient and streamlined. I’d quite like to become slightly more sporty and slender, a bit more like a Karmann Ghia.

I don’t wish to be skinny. I just want to be fit and healthy. But there is no way on this earth I can go back to the diet clubs I used to. They worked for a time, but the weight has always returned. Hypnotherapy, worked while I was having the sessions. Milkshakes made me evil.

But this “experiment” is not a diet. As soon as diety thoughts creep in, I will question those too. Looking at food in a totally different way though is not something I’ve done before. Dieting has always involved substituting something nice, with something not nice but trying to fool myself into thinking it was as nice. I was eating salads and soups purely with the intention of losing weight over the weeks, with weigh ins at regular intervals. This time I want to give my body the chance to take in nutrient dense food and give it the opportunity to run to its best. Good wholesome foods, simple foods. Cutting out the sugars and sweeteners, the stimulants, and letting my body have a chance to get good stuff without my head fighting and giving in to the crispy crunchy fatty sweet cravings.

I shall keep you posted on how this experiment runs. Today’s a good start, cycling for exercise and simple jacket and beans for lunch. And how do I feel? Light and happy!

Leave a Reply

