What are you going to do about it?

Published December 1, 2011 by Crystal

It’s December 1st! Officially Christmas Month. Officially the time to start opening those little windows? Did you get a chocolate one? I haven’t got one. I thought about getting a nice traditional picture one, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. Maybe tomorrow.
It’s the start of the silly party season. All those finger foods, nuts, tins of chocolates. And mulled wine, mulled ale, Baileys! Need I go on? Need I list all the temptations people come to face at this time of years? But for me, this year at least, I can take or leave it all! Having become (a slightly slacking on occasion) vegan, the appeal of a large chunk of those goodies is removed. I’m not missing chocolate, and the alcohol I’m cutting down on. Nuts, well I like them, but in a salad, or a roast, not really on their own. I’ve never been a big fan of the cake or pudding, and mince pies, I just shudder at the thought, unless they’re smothered in cream, which I now don’t eat! Ha! How smug do I sound?
BUT. I’m still looking forward to Christmas dinner. Roast potatos, parsnips, sprouts and chestnuts in a marsala reduction. Stuffing. Bread sauce……..can you make a nice tasting vegan bread sauce?
I love food, don’t be fooled! I just don’t want to use December as an excuse to overindulge on all those little savoury delicacies. It’s an old habit I no longer desire to keep up.
The children will be out of school soon for Christmas holidays. That’s a couple of weeks of lazing around, especially if it’s cold. So what do we all do to keep moving, to keep our bodies energized and full of vitality?
That table I mentioned a couple of blog entries ago. I’m going to have to do it. That list of the exercise ideas to keep me inspired. I need a plan, man!
But first, I have to do the housework, and some school stuff. And I’m oh so good at procrastinating.
So what are you going to do about it all this December?

Leave a Reply

