6 miles

Published January 8, 2013 by Crystal

In 4 months I will be walking 26.2 miles, raising money for Walk the Walk.  Since I signed up in December I have been doing my best to fit in walks, and get training but then Christmas and New Year and LOTS of rain happened, and I’ll be honest, I made the most of every excuse not to walk.

But now it’s 2013, and now It’s 4 months away. And I’m not walk ready, not even half.  So now starts serious walking.  Proper distances, and decent times.  At least that’s the plan.  My phone is full of music, and I have an app to tell me how many miles I’m covering, in what speed.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t aware how quickly the app would zap my battery today, and I ended up having to do the last 2 miles of my walk music-less and app-less!  Which of course got me thinking, because if you’re not listening to music, what else can you do with 2 miles to walk?

I was thinking about what will be the best way for me to train.  Do I cover the same distance each time and focus on speeding up? Or do I give myself two hours and see how much further I can get each time?  Or not worry too much about time and just keep going?  What’s more important?  Speed or distance?  And then it hit me.  For now at least, surely the most important thing is that I’m walking.  For now it doesn’t matter whether I decide to stick with the distance and up the speed, or I simply try and go a little further each day regardless of time.  For now, just the sheer consistency of going out regularly and covering a decent distance is what really matters.   Time and again I’m reminded of the phrase, no matter how slow you go, you’re lapping everyone on the couch.  Walking doesn’t have to be hard, and with 4 months to go I don’t want to be dreading a single walk.  So for now, just for now, it’s my way, on the highway.

With this revelation, I think I’m going to drop the juice zapping app.  If I want to know how many miles I’ve done I think I’ll just use good old google maps.

Leave a Reply

