“I could do what you do”

Published February 3, 2013 by Crystal

I had a bit of a situation yesterday.  Someone took issue to my selling hag stones  “They’re stones with holes in.  I have loads of them in my garden.  I’ll sell them to you for £4!”  The point she seemed to miss, is that I have hand painted these stones.  I’ve spent time thinking of what to put, what people might like, and I’ve thought about the magic of them and have wanted to reflect this.  Every stone has had thought and effort put into them, and have been worked on with love.  It’s a pagan thing.  I love hag stones, I have them in plant pots at the front of my house and in my back garden.  I believe in the protection they offer. And if you’ve seen The Spiderwick Chronicles, you’ll have seen the bit where they have to look through a hag stone to be able to see the fairies.  They’re magical things, beautiful and interesting in themselves, with thousands of years of energy of the sea worked into them, shaping them.

I love hag stones.

Where I live, in the middle of England, we’re far from the coast.  We can’t pop out and pick up a hag stone.  They aren’t readily available in the Cotswolds. But when I get down to the coasts, I’ll always look and see if I can find them, because they’re beautiful and uncommon and so, so special.

I don’t expect everyone to love them.  I certainly don’t expect everyone to like the paintings I’ve put onto them.  In fact I’ve walked through many a craft fair and thought “I could do do something like that”, but I wouldn’t say that.  Not to anyone!  We’re all here, on our own paths, and some of us like using art and craft as a way to feel a little bit free.  We want to share the joy we’ve experienced by sharing our art and craft work.  I’m sure lots and lots of people can do FAR better than me, but they have the respect and courtesy not to say it.  If you think you can do it, then I urge you to try, give it a go, make things, paint things, get in touch with that crafty side of yours, nurture it, love it and share it with the world.  But don’t do nothing and tell others that you could do it.  Put your crafty tools in your hand and do it!

And remember, when you’re paying for a piece of art, you’re paying for thoughts, and time, and effort, as well as the materials.

 

Blessings xxx

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

