“It’s simple! Eat less, move more!”

Published August 12, 2013 by Crystal

I’m not a particularly violent person, but there are some people I would happily slap across the face.  People who obviously don’t suffer the nearly constant body anxieties and diet related issues that I and many people I know do.

It may well be the same people who, when you are finding just getting out of bed in the morning cheerfully tell you to “Hurry up, it may never happen!”  I hate unsolicited advice, but I loathe people who have no idea and have done no research or reading on issues that affect me, thoughtlessly spouting forth their flippant little comments.   They make judgements based solely on their limited knowledge and experience, and give out their judgements with such confidence as if we’re to bow down and thank them for pointing out our sheer stupidity.

“My gods!  She’s right!  How could I not see that eating less food, and maybe walking an extra hour each day is all I need to lose weight and become happy with my eating and my body!  This woman is a genius!  Clearly she knows what she’s talking about.”

If you’ve read any of my blog posts you may have come across my personal experiences which demonstrate that for me, Eat less, move more, is not the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth.  There is truth in there.  But alas, we are complex beings and we use food for so much more than merely fuelling our bodies.

Fortunately the tide is turning, and fortunately more people are realising that diets do not work for the majority of people.  The BBC have created a series focussing on the diet industry http://www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/proginfo/2013/32/the-men-who-made-us-thin.html, fortunately more people are realising that there is more to weight loss than simple mechanics.

So the next person that tells me “It’s simple!” may well get high fived, in the face, with a death by chocolate cake.

 

 

 

This blog has been brought to you by the words; pissed off and annoyed.

 

Leave a Reply

