Believe it or not, your body is NOT trying to piss you off.

Published November 14, 2013 by Crystal

I read a lady’s comment earlier.  She’d gained weight at her weekly weigh in.  Her response was “Well body, you may try to fight me, but I’m not giving up and I’m not giving in”.  I admire the determination, I just feel sad that she thinks she’s at war with her body.

She had many people praising and supporting her statement and determination and I realised this is very much a belief held by many.  That we need to beat our bodies into submission.  That sometimes they gain weight when we’ve done nothing to cause it.  That our bodies don’t want to be slim.  They want to fight us all the way.

I don’t believe it.  I can’t believe it.

My body has served me so well over the last 34 years.  Every day it helps me get out of bed and live a life.  Every day (and night) these lungs work, without me asking them to.  My heart beats without me consciously telling it to.  My digestive system deals with what I give it, and does what it can to get the best out of every meal.  Some times it gets lots of fatty foods.  They must be difficult to deal with.  After all, I feel hellishly sluggish if I eat a heavy meal.  My body puts all efforts into digesting this massive meal.

Some times I don’t eat.  I’m stressed, or fed up, or angry.  My body has to run on whatever reserves I have, but it also cleverly slows things down so it makes the very best of what it does use.

Some times I eat regularly but then do lots of physical activity, and my body holds fluid to help repair my muscles.  This might leave me feeling bloated, but it’s a first aid action,to help my muscles get back to a state where they can work their best.  My body is doing this to help me, not punish me!

Maybe, if I don’t eat regularly, or I eat far less than my body needs, maybe my body will maintain that slow motion activity to keep it going, just in case a next meal is a long way off.

Maybe, if I eat regularly, it will start to work with a bit more faith that food isn’t scarce.

Maybe if my physical activity becomes and remains a regular habit, my muscles won’t need repairing to the same level quite so much and so often, and I won’t hold so much fluid after a time of high activity.

Maybe my body actually finds carrying this extra weight around a little bit strenuous, and would work better with a little less.

Maybe my body is doing everything to carry me through, every single day.

And maybe, if I speak with kindness and appreciation, I won’t see this weight loss malarky so much a battle, as a journey with the very thing that has brought me this far.  This tired, weary, aging, but still serving, body.

 

Maybe.

 

Leave a Reply

