An Intuitive Eating Book Club?

Published October 15, 2014 by Crystal

I started reading to re-read a book that has been on my shelf for a few years now.

It’s Not About Food looks into the deeper reasons behind our obsessive behaviour around food, and our battles with dieting and anxiety over our weight. I say “our”, I mean me, and people who, like me, have or have had an unhealthy relationship with food for more years than they care to remember.

The book is a stark contrast to the continuous bombardment of ideal shapes, perfect weights, aspirational thinness.  It calls the reader to start to look within and explore and listen.

As I read through the pages, I started to wish for a way to open up a channel of communication for people who, like me, have felt the despair and feelings of failure around food and weight.  A safe space to discuss issues and feelings that come from reading those ideas in the pages of books. An opportunity to address real questions that come out of the various ideas and experiences of the authors.

I am not an expert.  I can only work with what I have learnt, and with what I have experienced.  But there are experts out there who have written books that can help us in our journeys to a healthy food and weight relationship, and I wondered if maybe a few of us might like to work through these books together, in a virtual world kind of way, and have an online book club?

I thought about a meet up, in person, local to me, and an opportunity for face to face chat.  But then I thought maybe early on in their journeys, people would appreciate the anonymity of online groups.

What do you think?

A book club specific to an Intuitive Eating Theme? Giving a good amount of time to each book, and to the themes within those books?

Let me know your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

