#janathon (subtitled “Why was that run so odiously hard?”)

Published January 26, 2015 by Crystal

I had to change my route from the one I had planned this morning, because near teenager plodded into my room, slowly climbed under the duvet, and I knew it meant he was not well.  He is even in his own bed now, lying a bit lifeless, as only men with man flu can, you get the gist.

But what it meant was that I didn’t want to be so far from home if he should call in panic, so I made my route no more than a 2 miles from home, and ran walked that slightly different circular route over 1 hour and 35 minutes.  I know I walked more than I ran, but it would appear my running stints were faster than my usual snail pace.  But there was no way today I could manage a solid mile.  Even half a mile was stretching it.  I would run a stretch, maybe the length of a song, and then need to walk again.  My muscles ached, and I had to stop to stretch twice.  But at least I was fast over all, and I maintained a steady pace for the most part.  Why was it so hard today?  Was it down to having only left two hours between breakfast and exercise?  Or lack of hydration?  I realised I’d only had the one coffee beforehand, slight schoolboy error I guess.  Was it the lack of a long sleeve top that made it hard to get started?  On getting home I think I fixed the whole dehydration thing today with several big glasses of water.  Guess it’s a case of trial and error.  Next week I shall aim for 9 miles over all.  I figure covering distance is as important as running more and more of it.  At least, that’s where I’m going with this!

Food wise, I am enjoying what I am eating at the moment.  There was a bit of a blip with the www.slimmables.com website for me last night, but it was sorted by this morning, and I think it was down in part to me accidentally having put in the wrong card details somewhere. The support continued, and I accept this as the teething troubles that come with a new product.

I feel satisfied, and have rediscovered my love of avocados and cashews! Not having to *syn* an avocado is a wonderful feeling.  Not that I ever HAD to.  I do have my own mind.  But those of you who’ve followed the various weight loss plans know what I mean, don’t you?

Can you believe there are only 5 days left of January?  Well, 4 and a half as of writing!  I will miss #janathon.  It has certainly been an incentive to keep blogging and exercising that little bit extra.  Though my clothing style has been somewhat affected, still need some vintage inspired fitness wear!

Mood: Today I am ok.  A little sparky, my mind does seem a bit distracted, but it’s tolerable today, and I don’t feel low.

Leave a Reply

