Do you know this soldier? Vintage portrait.

Published February 28, 2015 by Crystal

I bought this framed portrait.

image

I was drawn to him the first time I saw it but actually waited a couple of weeks.  Anyway.  He is note hanging in my hall way.  I would like to find out about him if I can.  Why was his portrait in an antique shop and not hanging in a family home?  Who was he?  What did he do?  What happened to his family?  This picture was bought in Cheltenham, UK, so is he a local man or did the picture travel? Please share this post.  I am really interested to see what we can discover about this gentleman.

A clearer picture of the cap badge was requested. But the nature of the picture means there is no clear picture. But here is a close up
image

Scrolling through cap badges and trying to find a shape similar I wonder if he might be one of the Hussars

Leave a Reply

